When I’m Not Writing . . .

When I’m not writing or teaching or grading or playing music or making a perfunctory attempt to keep house, I can often be found working with wool.  Felting has been a passion of mine ever since I decided I had to figure out something to do with all that wool, our little farm’s most abundant natural resource.

Besides selling felted soap at the local farmers’ market, I engage in various experiments with wool and water.  Once I attempted to make a pink beret.  Unfortunately, in my calculations I forgot the difference between radius and diameter. . .

Even artistic types ought to know the difference between radius and diameter

Fortunately, my daughter, a theatre major and costume designer, cleverly turned the botched beret into a dashing Renaissance cap that could have been donned by a character in Kingdom of the Birds.

Kat Lutze, costume designer extraordinaire

Leave a comment

Filed under Life Apart from Writing

Leave a Reply

